Board Notes

Spring/Summer 2014 Phone: (512) 305-7555 A Publication of the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
Email: vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us Website: www.tbvme.state.tx.us

Nicole Oria, Executive Director Fax: (512) 305-7556

Bud E. Alldredge, Jr., DVM, President Dan Craven, DVM James McAdams Joe Mac King, DVM, Vice President J. Todd Henry, DVM Manuela "Mamie" Salazar-Harper Janie Carpenter, DVM, Secretary Roland Lenarduzzi, DVM Chad Upham

NEWS FROM TEXAS ANIMAL HEALTH COMMISSION

Veterinarians, do you issue health certificates for livestock? Do you perform Coggins testing or test for Equine Piroplasmosis? Do you offer Brucellosis, Tuberculosis, Trichomoniasis, or Chronic Wasting Disease testing through your practice? The laws and regulations regarding your eligibility to participate in the Texas Animal Health Commission disease control and eradication programs have changed.

As a result of enhanced statutory authority found in Section 161.0417 of the Texas Agriculture Code (Section 161.0417 of the Texas Agriculture Code), The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) recently adopted Chapter 47 of the Texas Administrative Code. Chapter 47 implements a new Authorized Personnel Program that is similar to the earlier Texas Bovine Brucellosis Program Approved Personnel; however, the new program is not limited to Brucellosis. The Authorized Personnel Program regulations and requirements apply to veterinarians that perform work in any state or federal disease control or eradication program.

What do these changes mean for you?

This summer, all Texas veterinarians who previously held brucellosis-approved status will receive individual, written notification from TAHC regarding the Authorized Personnel Program and the requirement to transfer your brucellosis-approved status to TAHC Authorized Personnel status. We ask that you to sign and return that document to TAHC by September 1, 2014.

If you had brucellosis-approved status with TAHC as of March 1, 2014, through training as a Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine student or training at a TAHC Regional Office, no additional training is required at this time. However, you are welcome to attend any of our TAHC training opportunities if you wish to obtain free veterinary continuing education credits, or need additional review or training on a particular topic such as Brucellosis, Tuberculosis, Equine Piroplasmosis, Equine Infectious Anemia, Pseudorabies, Swine Brucellosis or Scrapie.

TAHC also offers 1.5 hours of continuing education credits for our 90-minute certification course in Trichomoniasis and 1.5 hours of continuing education credits for our 90-minute certification course in Chronic Wasting Disease. These courses are available by request through your TAHC Region Offices and periodically at regional veterinary conferences. Watch the TAHC website and social media sites for announcements of these and future course offerings.

As new disease programs emerge and as existing disease programs evolve, regulatory work in Texas becomes more complex. The TAHC Authorized Personnel Program has enabled the agency to develop a more current and relevant infrastructure of oversight to address these new complexities. This program is here to enhance the effectiveness of disease control and eradication programs by ensuring Texas veterinarians, who are the first line of defense against existing and emerging diseases, receive sufficient training for the TAHC regulatory programs.

If you have any further questions regarding continuing education opportunities or the new TAHC Authorized Personnel Program, contact Dr. Susan Culp at (512) 719-0716 or by e-mail at susan.culp@tahc.texas.gov.

NEWS FROM THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF VETERINARY STATE BOARDS

VCET-Coming Soon!

What is VCET? Veterinary Continuing Education Tracking (VCET) is a centralized repository for veterinary CE information, an extension of VIVA with linkage to RACE approved programs. VCET is a free service and offers online access for individual licensees to submit their CE courses and transmit reports to Member Boards in a uniform format. Release is scheduled for this Spring of 2014. Future VCET development will include a CE audit service for the Member Boards.

Page 2 Board Notes

BOARD ADOPTS CHANGES TO RULES

At the June 3, 2014 Board meeting, the Board voted to adopt the following rules.

§573.9 Nonresident Consultants. This amendment will allow for general supervision rather than direct supervision for nonresident consultations.

§577.15 Fee Schedule: This amendment will add fees for veterinary technician and equine dental provider licensures to cover the administrative costs associated with permitting renewals of licensure to occur on the internet, through a third party vendor. The amendment would increase fees for regular and inactive license renewals by \$5 and would be effective January 1, 2015.

BOARD PROPOSES CHANGES TO RULES

At the June 3, 2014 Board meeting, the Board voted to publish the following proposed rules in the *Texas Register* for comment. Once the rules have been published, they will also be available on our website at http://www.tbvme.state.tx.us/rules.php.

§573.10 Supervision of Non-Veterinarians. This amendment changes the word "should" to "may" in the sentence stating that "when feasible, a veterinarian should delegate greater responsibility to a licensed veterinary technician than to an unlicensed person." This mirrors the language in section 801.363 of the Veterinary Licensing Act. This amendment also clarifies the exception for emergency care to state that if the rule is followed, the veterinarian is not in violation of the veterinary-client-patient-relationship requirement.

§573.22 Professional Standard of Care. This amendment articulates the Board's long held interpretation of the rule that the word "community" references a geographic community.

§573.29 Complaint Information and Notice to Clients. This amendment establishes that veterinary technicians are not required to provide notice to clients as to how a client might file a complaint with the Board as that is required of the licensed veterinarian or licensed equine dental provider.

§573.41 Use of Prescription Drugs. This amendment clarifies that licensed veterinarians must comply with the state and federal laws regarding prescription drugs.

§573.43 Controlled Substances Registration. This amendment clarifies that licensed veterinarians must comply with the state and federal laws regarding controlled substances.

§573.74 Management Services Organization in Veterinary Practice. This amendment provides that verbal contracts will not be considered evidence of compliance with this rule. This amendment will clarify that an actual written contract between parties is required.

§573.76 Notification of Licensee Addresses. This amendment removes the exemption of providing a physical business address for mobile practice veterinarians.

§575.28 Complaints—Investigations. This amendment clarifies the timing of the report of investigation as drafted by the Board's staff to conform to actual practice and to rule §575.29. The report on investigation is completed after the initial investigation is completed by the Board's investigators and the full investigation is not complete until after the informal conference.

§575.281 Complaints—Appeals. This amendment makes non-substantive changes to maintain conformity with terminology as used in the Veterinary Licensing Act.

§575.29 Informal Conference. This amendment allows the general counsel to also conduct informal conferences in addition to the executive director and director of enforcement. This also clarifies the Board's policy and practice that anything reported by a licensee during an informal conference may be used against that licensee if the matter proceeds to a contested case before the State Office of Administrative Hearings or as a new complaint or investigation. This amendment also clarifies that any evidence submitted by the licensee during an informal conference becomes a part of the Board's investigation file.

Page 3 Board Notes

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE REGISTRATION RENEWALS

As of February, DPS is only mailing out reminder postcards (not renewal forms as they have in the past). This is actually what we do as well. However, this is what is different: We allow the entire process to occur online. With DPS, you have to go to the DPS website, print the form, fill out the form and mail it in with your payment. You may also print the forms, fill them, out, scan them and send it by email to DPS and either mail the fee or pay the fee online. If you pay online and do not submit the form, this is insufficient to be registered. You will have only paid, not filled out the form. There is no follow up by DPS if someone has paid and not submitted the forms. They will keep your money and not tell you that the registration in incomplete. It is the licensee's responsibility to ensure your controlled substances registration is timely renewed, and not doing so may result in disciplinary action by the Board.

INSIDE THIS ISSUE:

News From the Texas Animal Health Commission	1
News from the American Association of Veterinary State Boards	1
Board Adopts Changes to Rules	2
Board Proposes Changes to Rules	2
Department of Public Safety Controlled Substance Registration Renewals	3
Holiday Closures	3
Enforcement Issues	4
Continuing Education Offerings	8
2014 Veterinary Licensing Exam Dates	7
Reporting of Criminal Activity	8
In Memoriam	9
Policy for Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Veterinary Techni-	9
Do We Have Your Current Address?	10

Upcoming TBVME Office Holiday Closures

The TBVME offices will be closed on the following dates:

July 4, 2014 in observance of Independence Day

September 1, 2014 in observance of Labor Day

November 11, 2014 in observance of Veterans' Day

November 26-27, 2014 in observance of Thanksgiving

December 24-26, 2014 in observance of Christmas

Upcoming Board Meeting Dates

October 21, 2014

Page 4 Board Notes

ENFORCEMENT ISSUES

Disciplinary Actions

The following veterinarians have had disciplinary actions taken against their licenses. If you would like to receive additional information regarding these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, you may search for copies of disciplinary orders on the verification page of our website, or you may send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, ATTN: Open Records, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-710, Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us.

Name	License #	City, State	Disciplinary Date	Discipline	Disciplinary Order
Robert Tiller, DVM	4002	Waskom, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years with all stayed and placed on probation; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2013-49 & 2013-152
Jim Airhart, DVM	2385	Mesquite, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years with all but one week stayed and placed on probation; \$1,000 administrative penalty; 3 additional hours of CE	2013-73 & 2013-82
Bryan Shedd, DVM	9614	San Antonio, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2013-116
Betty Drummond, DVM	8760	College Station, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand	2013-147
Danielle Garcia, DVM	12900	Brenham, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$500 administrative penalty; take and pass the jurisprudence exam	2013-165
Kelli Shomette, DVM	7460	Rockwall, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$2,000 administrative penalty	2013-175
Jeffry Bynum, DVM	7822	Frisco, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; pay restitution of \$409.11	2014-03
Elizabeth Hildreth, DVM	4960	Richmond, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty. Failure to remove reproductive organs during spay surgery; mitigating factors present.	2014-12
Jay Meyer, DVM	8248	Austin, TX	02/18/14	License suspended for 5 years with all stayed and placed on probation; must be monitored by a veterinarian for 1 year; must continue Peer Assistance contract	2014-18
Stephanie Webb, DVM	9124	Georgetown, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; 6 additional hours of CE (3 in ethics and 3 in recordkeeping)	2014-19
Steven Garner, DVM	5371	League City, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2014-25
Daniel O'Neil, DVM	5338	Fredericksburg, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2014-29
Rachel Brown, DVM	12333	Allen Park, MI	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; 3 additional hours of CE in emergency medicine	2014-31
Shonda Stallings, DVM	12950	Hallettsville, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$500 administrative penalty; must take and pass the jurisprudence exam	2014-35
Mead McGee, EDP	EDP-31	Tioga, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand; \$500 administrative penalty; must take and pass the jurisprudence exam	2014-36
Liat Zilkha, DVM	10177	Austin, TX	02/18/14	Formal reprimand	2014-37
Lisa Howe, DVM	6200	College Station, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand	2014-08
Jeanne Chucle, DVM	7324	Houston, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,500 administrative penalty	2014-101
Jeffery Gibbs, DVM	6426	Grapevine, TX	06/03/14	Termination of prior order	2001-09

Page 5 Board Notes

Disciplinary Actions Continued...

Name	License #	City, State	Disciplinary Date	Discipline	Disciplinary Order
Mary Jane Grant Ramos, DVM	8128	El Paso, TX	06/03/14	Termination of prior order	2010-76
Matthew Nimmo, DVM	Appli- cant	Stonewall, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$500 administrative penalty	2014-103
Thomas Hooper, DVM	6015	College Station, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years with all stayed and probated; \$5,000 administrative penalty; must provide proof of current DPS registration; must complete an additional 2 hours of continuing education	2014-104
Constance Sack, DVM	12944	Dallas, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; license suspended for one year with all stayed and probated; must enter into and complete a peer assistance contract for 5 years; must notify employers of the disciplinary order	2014-105
Joel Akin, DVM	6921	Dallas, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years with all stayed and probated; \$2,000 administrative penalty	2014-107
John Key, DVM	2339	Lubbock, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2014-117
David Helcel, DVM	11365	Houston, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty; must take and pass the jurisprudence exam	2014-123
Jeanne Chucle, DVM	7324	Houston, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,500 administrative penalty	2014-124
Ivan Muennink, DVM	6285	Seminole, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$500 administrative penalty	2014-131
Kellie Herrington, DVM	10207	Argyle, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2014-158
Joey Bryant, DVM	9787	Kyle, TX	06/03/14	Voluntary surrender of license	2014-159
Patricia Rife, DVM	6862	Greenville, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$2,500 administrative penalty	2014-161
Pamela Langston, DVM	7204	Round Rock, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$500 administrative penalty	2014-180
Eliza Wilby, DVM	10932	Round Rock, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2014-181
Sam Joy, DVM	10500	Lewisville, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	2014-182
Randy Mullinix, EDP	EDP-24	Whitesboro, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$900 administrative; must take an additional 6 hours of continuing education	2014-189
John Williams, DVM	4792	Grand Prairie, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; license suspended for 2 years with all stayed and probated; \$2,500 administrative penalty; must take and pass the jurisprudence exam	2014-190
Charter Ramey, DVM	11059	Amarillo, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,000 administrative penalty	14-10
Huey Beckham, DVM	7629	Houston, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$1,500 administrative penalty; must take and pass the jurisprudence exam	14-11
Stephen Bowman, DVM	9302	Adkins, TX	06/03/14	Formal reprimand; \$500 administrative penalty	14-14
Terrence Mayronne, DVM	3954	Maxwell, TX	06/03/14	Voluntary surrender of license	14-18
Stephen Tucker, DVM	11877	Houston, TX	06/03/14	Voluntary surrender of license	14-19

Page 6 Board Notes

Disciplinary Actions Continued...

In addition to the disciplinary actions previously listed, there were an additional 13 actions taken against veterinarians at the February 18, 2014 meeting. If you would like to receive additional information regarding these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, please send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, ATTN: Open Records, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-810, Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us

Number of Licensees Dis- ciplined	Violation Type	Sanction	Disciplinary Date
3	Failure to obtain required amount of continuing education	Administrative penalty and additional hours of continuing education	02/18/14
2	Failure to maintain DPS or DEA controlled substance registration	Administrative penalty	02/18/14
1	Default on student loan	Informal reprimand and administrative penalty	02/18/14
1	Failure to notify the board of an arrest and conviction during the licensure process	Informal reprimand	02/18/14
1	Failure to notify the board of an indictment for aggravated assault	Informal reprimand and administrative penalty	02/18/14
2	Failure to maintain adequate patient records	Informal reprimand, administrative penalty and additional hours of continuing education in recordkeeping	02/18/14
1	Failure to maintain adequate patient records and failure to notify the board of temporary limited service clinic	Informal reprimand, administrative penalty, 3 additional hours of continuing education in recordkeeping, must take and pass the jurisprudence exam	02/18/14
1	Failure to remove reproductive organs during spay surgery; mitigating factors present	Informal reprimand	02/18/14
1	Failure to inform and receive consent from cli- ent for anesthesia for teeth cleaning	Informal reprimand	02/18/14
6	Failure to obtain required amount of continuing education	Administrative penalty and additional hours of continuing education	06/03/14
9	Failure to maintain DPS or DEA controlled substance registration	Administrative penalty	06/03/14
1	Failure to assure a licensee employee meets the requirement regarding controlled substance registration	Administrative penalty	06/03/14
2	Failure to notify the Board of criminal activity	Informal reprimand and administrative penalty	06/03/14
1	Student loan default	Informal reprimand and administrative penalty	06/03/14
2	Failure to timely release patient records	Informal reprimand	06/03/14

Page 7 Board Notes

Disciplinary Actions Continued...

Cease and Desist Orders

The following Cease & Desist Orders have been signed and approved by the Board. If you would like to receive additional information regarding these or other disciplinary actions that have been imposed, please send your written request to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, ATTN: Open Records, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-810, Austin, TX 78701 or by email to vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us, or by fax to (512) 305-7574.

Name	City, State	Violation	Disciplinary Date
Desiree Karr	Angleton, TX	Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription vaccines or drugs without a license	02/18/14
Ric Redden, DVM	Versailles, KY	Performing musculoskeletal manipulation on animals without a license	02/18/14
Reginald Oliver	Houston, TX	Diagnosing the need for and administering a prescription anesthetic to animals without a license	02/18/14
Susan Mooney	League City, TX	Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription vaccines or drugs without a license	02/18/14
Stephen & Lynette Freeman (Texas Pet Bed & Breakfast)	Argyle, TX	Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription vaccines or drugs without a license	02/18/14
Carol Ater-Brackeen	Angleton, TX	Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription vaccines or drugs without a license	02/18/14
Marty Rosenquest	Wharton, TX	Diagnosing pregnancy of a bovine by palpation without a license	02/18/14
Melinda Wolff	Joshua, TX	Using a professional ultrasonic dental scaler and polisher on a canine without a license	02/18/14
Celestino Ortiz	Donna, TX	Administering rabies vaccinations without the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian, prescribing and dispensing prescription drugs and/or representing the willingness to prescribe and dispense prescription drugs to animals without a license	02/18/14
John Edwards	Stephenville, TX	Diagnosing or treating, including determining the need for or performing laparoscopic procedures on goats without a license	02/18/14
Jean Motas	Rockwall, TX	Issuing a fraudulent interstate health certificate	02/18/14
		Diagnosing the need for and dispensing/administering prescription vaccines or drugs without a license	06/03/14
Andres Torres		Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license	06/03/14
Luis Torres		Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license	
Rob Cupps	Houston, TX	Non-licensee owning a veterinary practice	06/03/14
Desiree Laredo		Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license	06/03/14
Jamie Cupps	Houston, TX	Non-licensee owning a veterinary practice	06/03/14
Minh Tran	Houston, TX	Non-licensee owning a veterinary practice	06/03/14
Ayah Istambouli		Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license	06/03/14
Charles Cooper	Winthorst, TX	Practicing equine dentistry without a license	06/03/14
Luis Romero	San Antonio, TX	Diagnosing and treating an animal without a license	06/03/14
Richard Beham	Spring, TX	Prescribing and administering a rabies vaccination, issuing a rabies vaccination certificate without a license	06/03/14

Page 8 Board Notes

2014 Veterinary Licensing Exam Dates

State Board Examination (SBE) Schedule

All State Board Exams, will be administered at participating COMIRA testing centers. Please read the deadline dates carefully. An application must be submitted to TBVME for <u>ALL</u> exams to determine eligibility for veterinary licensure in Texas. Only approved applicants will be able to purchase and schedule the exam through our website.

August 2014

Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: Window for taking the exam:

October 2014

Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: Window for taking the exam:

December 2014

Deadline for application to be received by TBVME: Window for purchasing and scheduling exam: Window for taking the exam:

August 29, 2014 September 15–26, 2014

October 13-24, 2014

August 11-22, 2014

June 27, 2014 July 14–25, 2014

October 24, 2014 November 10–21, 2014 December 8–19, 2014

Reporting of Criminal Activity

All licensees and licensure applicants are required to report criminal activity as set out in Board Rule 573.70 which states:

- (a) A licensee or an applicant for a license from the Board shall report to the Board no later than the 30th day after he or she is charged with, or convicted of any misdemeanor related to the practice of veterinary medicine or equine dentistry, or any felony.
- (b) On a finding by the Board that a licensee has engage in non-drug related criminal conduct or committed a non-drug related felony or misdemeanor, other than a misdemeanor under the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic or Highways, Texas Civil Statutes, Article 6701d, or a similar misdemeanor traffic offense, the executive director shall notify the district attorney or county attorney of the county in which the licensee resides. The notice must be in writing and contain a copy of the Board's finding and any order of the Board relating to the licensee's conduct.
- (c) On a finding by the Board that a licensee has engaged in drug related criminal conduct or committed a drug related felony or misdemeanor, the executive director shall notify the Narcotics Service, Texas Department of Public Safety and/or the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. The notice must be in writing and contain a copy of the Board's finding and any order of the Board relating to the licensee's conduct.

Board Rule 575.50(f)(1) lists crimes that are related to and connected with the practice of veterinary medicine.

Continuing Education Offerings

Information on available CE may be obtained through the following sources. Additional offerings may be available through other sources. For information on what is considered "acceptable" CE, please refer to Board Rules <u>573.64</u> and <u>573.65</u>.

RACE

(Registry of Approved Continuing Education)

Search for Available CE: http://www.aavsb.org/RACE/Search

RACE requires approved providers to issue signed certificates of completion, maintain attendance records for four years and provide qualification of instructors and CE personnel who develop and implement courses.

Texas A&M

Phone: (979) 845-9102 Fax: (979) 862-2832 Email: ceoffice@cvm.tamu.edu

Texas Veterinary Medical Association

www.tvma.org

8104 Exchange Dr. Austin, TX 78754 Phone: (512) 452-4224 Fax: (512) 452-6633 Page 9 Board Notes

In Memoriam...

"Let us hold our lives up to the light of those who walked before us, remembering the footprints they left behind and preserving the pathways they created."

Jack Fritts, Texas A&M Class of '53

Name	City, State	Vet School/Grad Year	Date of Death
Marsha Jo Dewalt Hawkins, DVM	La Porte, TX	TAMU/1969	October 13, 2011
Robert D. Bluntzer, Jr., DVM	Corpus Christi, TX	TAMU/1959	February 7, 2013
Richard Mauldin, DVM	Oklahoma City, OK	OSU/1968	April 6, 2013
James Carroll, DVM	Corsicana, TX	TAMU/1952	November 24, 2013
A.C. "Doc" Kaltwasser, DVM	El Campo, TX	TAMU/1943	November 29, 2013
Robert Leslie Clifford, Jr., DVM	De Berry, TX	TAMU/1949	December 17, 2013
Tyrrele DeVolin, DVM	El Paso, TX	TAMU/1943	December 18, 2013
Barbara Nichols, DVM	Richardson, TX	TAMU/1997	December 25, 2013
Robert Steve Wilson, DVM	Tyler, TX	TAMU/1971	December 27, 2013
A.M. Easterling, Jr., DVM	Centerville, TX	TAMU/1962	December 30, 2013
Albert Pickard, DVM	Raymondville, TX	TAMU/1943	January 15, 2014
Gerald Parker, DVM	San Antonio, TX	TAMU/1943	February 2, 2014
Russell S. Stanger, Jr., DVM	Brazoria, TX	TAMU/1945	February 27, 2014
George Tolbert, DVM	North Richland Hills, TX	TAMU/1956	March 9, 2014
David W. Stormer, DVM	Muenster, TX	TAMU/1977	March 21, 2014
Robert McMillan, DVM	Midland, TX	TAMU/1962	April 4 2014
Mac Devin, DVM	Bryan, TX	TAMU/1989	April 7, 2014
James Marek, DVM	Bellville, TX	TAMU/1987	April 9, 2014
Thomas R. McCabe, Jr.	El Paso, TX	TAMU/1977	April 14, 2014
Otho Clay Collins, Jr.	Midland, TX	TAMU/1952	April 23, 2014
Floyd L. Gunn, DVM	College Station, TX	TAMU/1943	May 10, 2014
Joseph Braxton Doak, DVM	Dallas, TX	TAMU/1949	May 12, 2014
Richard Johannes "Dick" Thomes, DVM	Irving, TX	TAMU/1960	May 30, 2014

Policy for Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Veterinary Technicians

The continuing education requirements for Licensed Veterinary technicians, as established in newly adopted Rule 573.64, will only apply beginning in calendar year 2015.

Board Rule Spotlight

Board Rule 573.63 Inspection of Facilities and Records

Licensees shall admit a representative of the Board, during regular business hours, to inspect equipment and business premises; examine and/or copy client and patient records, drug records, including, but not limited to, invoices, receipts, transfer documents, inventory logs, surgery logs; and all other associated records relating to the practice of veterinary medicine or equine dentistry.

Page 10 Board Notes

Proposed Rule Changes Continued...

§575.30 Contested Case Hearing at SOAH (State Office of Administrative Hearings) This amendment clarifies the Board's policy and practice to include unlicensed people who are practicing veterinary medicine without a license and are subject to the cease and desist procedures in Rule 575.40. Rule 575.40 does not provide for procedures that occur after the informal conference at SOAH. This amendment will add the procedures to the Board's usual procedure before SOAH and the procedures as found in SOAH's rules.

§577.15 Fee Schedule. This amendment increases fees for regular and inactive expired license renewals by \$5 to cover the cost of permitting renewals to occur online for Veterinary Technicians and Equine Dental provider licensees. These fee increases will be effective for the 2015 renewal cycle.

Did You Know???

Unless you owe for more than the current year, all veterinary licensees can renew their license online through our website.

Peer Assistance

If you or someone you know has a substance abuse problem, it is far better to voluntarily participate in the Peer Assistance Program than to run the risk of disciplinary action, up to and including license revocation. The toll free hotline number is (800) 727-5152.

ADA Accommodations

The TBVME does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age or disability in employment or in the provision of services, programs, or activities. Individuals requesting reasonable accommodations should contact the Board's ADA Coordinator, Loris Jones, at 333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810, Austin, TX 78701-3998, or call (512) 305-7555 or by email at loris.jones@tbvme.state.tx.us.



Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-810 Austin, Texas 78701

Phone: 512-305-7555 Fax: 512-305-7556

E-mail: vet.board@tbvme.state.tx.us

Website: tbvme.state.tx.us

Our Mission:

The mission of the Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners is to establish and enforce policies to ensure the best possible quality of veterinary services for the people of Texas.

Our Philosophy:

The Board and its staff will act in accordance with the highest standards of ethics, accountability, efficiency and openness. We affirm that protection from less than quality veterinary and equine dental provider services is a public and private trust. We approach our activities with a deep sense of purpose and responsibility. The public and regulated community alike can be assured of a balanced and sensible approach to regulation.

Our Goals:

The Board and its staff will ensure that Texans are effectively and efficiently served by quality veterinary professionals by setting clear standards for professional conduct, by assuring compliance with the rules of professional conduct and the community standard of care, and seeking solutions to issues that strengthen the profession and protect the public.